Andhra Pradesh (AP) is the fifth largest State in the Indian Union having an area of 275,909 sq. kms and a population of about 75-80 million.  AP is bound in the North by Orissa and Madhya Pradesh States, in the East by bay of Bengal with a 960 km long coast line, in the South by Tamilnadu State, and in the West by Karnataka and Maharashtra.  AP forms a major link between the north and the south of India.

Andhra Pradesh consists of three distinct regions, namely, Andhra, Rayalaseema and Talangana. Andhra and Rayalaseema were part of  Madras province of the British empire. For approximately 400 years, Telangana was part of Hyderabad State, an independent kingdom ruled by Muslim Qutub Shahi and Nizam dynasties. Thanks to the sacrifice of Sriramulu Potti, Andhra and Rayalaseema were separated from Madras State in 1953. Andhra state (Andhra and Rayalaseema) was the first state that was formed purely on linguistic nationality, like many European states. Later Andhra merged with Telangana in 1956, based on their linguistic and national affinity, to form the present state of Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad as the capital city.   However, this has resulted in two major agitations: Jai Telangana in 1969 and Jai Andhra 1972, both for separate states.

The Krishna and the Godavari are the major river systems in AP.  The Godavari is the largest and the broadest river of South India.

States like Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Maharashtra, West Bengal etc. have produced and published comprehensive histories and cultures of their respective people. Several minor and major European nationalities have done the same. For some strange reason, comprehensive histories of Andhra, Rayalaseema and Telangana  peoples and their cultures have remained a dream, long cherished but unfulfilled. (Some history of AP can be reviewed at:,




Andhra is also known as Coasta, meaning coastal region. Andhra constitutes: Srikakualam, Vijayanagaram, Visakhapatnam, East Godavari, West Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Prakasham, and Nellore districts. Andhra is the most advanced region in Andhra Pradesh, both economically and educationally.

District                        Population            Area (sq. km)    Capital
Srikakulam                  2,321,130            5837                 Srikakulam
Vijayanagaram            2,110,943            6,539                 Vijayanagaram
Visakhapatnam           3,285,092            11,161               Visakhapatnam
East Godavari             4,541,220            10,807               Kakinada
West Godavari           3,517,568             7,742                 Eluru
Krishna                      3,698,833             8,727                 Machilipatnam
Guntur                        4,106,999            11,391               Guntur
Prakasam                   2,759,166            17,626               Ongolu
Nellore                       2,392,260            13,076               Nellore

Andhra                      28,733,211            92,906


Rayalaseema constitutes: Kurnool, Kadapa, Anantapuram, Chittooru.

District                        Population            Area (sq. km)        Capital
Kurnool                      2,973,024            17,658                   Kurnool
Anatapuram                3,183,814            19,130                   Anatapuram
Kadapa                      2,267,769            15,359                   Kadapa
Chittore                      3,261,120            15,152                   Chittore

Rayalaseema             11,685,727           67,299


Telangana forms the core of the Satavahana Dynasty (221BC-218 AD) and in the recent history, it formed the core of the Golconda State and Hyderabad State, ruled by alien Muslim rules, Qutub Shahi Dynasty (1520-1687) and Nizam Dynasty (1724-1948), until she joined the democratic republic of Indian Union in 1948 ending hundreds of years of autocratic rule.  Despite fifty-years of democratic rule, the Telangana region remains one of the most backward rgions in the entire Indian Union and remains the most backward province in the state of Andhra Pradesh.  Telangana constitutes 10 districts: Adilabad, Karimnagar, Nizamabad, Medak, Warangal, Khammam, Hyderabad, Rangareddy, Nalgonda, and Mahaboobnagar districts.

District                               Population            Area (            Capital

Adilabad                            2,082,479            16,105                    Adilabad
Karimnagar                        3,037,486            11,823                    Karimnagar
Warangal                           2,818,832            12,844                    Warangal
Khammam                         2,215,809            16,029                    Khammam
Nalgonda                           2,852,092            14,240                    Nalgonda
Mahaboobnagar                3,077,050             18,432                    Mahaboobnagar
Medak                              2,269,800             9,699                      Sangareddy
Nizamabad                        2,037662              7956                       Nizamabad
Hyderabad                        3,145,940             217                         Hyderabad
Rangareddy                       2,551,966             7,493                      Hyderabad

Telangana                          23,873,307         98811

Please Visit:
Mana Sansktiti (Our Culture), a monthly journal, for articles on the history, culture and literature of Andhra Pradesh
Related Websites

Back to Vepachedu Home Page